BBC Home
Explore the BBC

CBBC

Guides: Islam

Last Updated: Friday January 21 2005 19:56 GMT

What can and can't Muslims eat?

Dates
The Qur'an tells Muslims not to eat pork, drink wine, gamble or do anything that will damage their health.

For these reasons alcohol is illegal in some Islamic countries.

Muslims eat meat that is "Halal."

This means that the animal was killed in a particular way and that a prayer was said when the animal was killed.

Some Muslims also eat Kosher meat (this is Jewish meat).

During Ramadan Muslims do not eat or drink during the daylight hours.



BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy