BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Tuesday October 07 2003 13:43 GMT

Rugby League

Rugby league

Rugby League is played by teams of 13 players, with each team made up of six forwards and seven backs.

League started after Union, and from the beginning was a professional sport; meaning playing the game was the players' jobs.

League also has a World Cup, played every four years, but doesn't have a tournament similar to the Union's Six Nations.

BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy