BBC Home
Explore the BBC


The Ashes

Last Updated: Thursday November 25 2010 14:12 GMT

What are The Ashes?

Andrew Flintoff and Ricky Ponting

The Ashes is the name given to any Test cricket series involving England and Australia.

The two nations meet at least every two years, with the winners claiming one of the most famous (and smallest) trophies in sport, The Ashes.

The matches are held alternately in England and Australia. They consist of a series of five Test matches, each lasting up to five days.

Guide to The Ashes