BBC Home
Explore the BBC


Guides: Types of Government

Last Updated: Monday September 12 2005 14:47 GMT


Bertie Aherne, president of the Irish Republic
A republic is a country that has no monarch.

The head of the country is usually an elected president.

Guide to Types of Government

BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy