BBC Home
Explore the BBC


Commonwealth Games

Last Updated: Monday March 20 2006 15:56 GMT

What is the Commonwealth?

Commonwealth logo

Today the Commonwealth is a family of 54 nations in every continent.

In the past many of these nations were part of the British Empire. They have now chosen to join the modern Commonwealth.

The Commonwealth includes some of the richest and poorest, largest and smallest nations in the world.