BBC Home
Explore the BBC

CBBC

Vegetarianism

Last Updated: Wednesday September 26 2007 12:47 GMT

What's a vegetarian?

Fruit
A vegetarian is someone who doesn't eat meat, poultry, game or fish.

They also avoid the by-products of slaughter such as:

  • gelatine - found in some sweets, biscuits and ice creams
  • animal rennet - found in some cheese

Most vegetarians eat dairy products and eggs.

The Vegetarian Society says that some 4 million people in Britain are vegetarian.





MOST POPULAR STORIES

  1. Quiz: Queen Victoria