BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday September 22 2006 14:39 GMT

The Davis Cup

The Brazilian Davis Cup team

The Davis Cup is an international tennis tournament between countries. It's one of the few times players perform for their countries and not themselves.

The best 16 countries in the world play in something called the World Group and there are playoffs (ties) throughout the year to find out which two nations take part in the final in November.

Countries have to qualify to get into that world or elite group.

Other countries also take part in the Davis Cup, but they have to play in lower levels of the tournament. Countries can be promoted to the world group from the lower levels.

Each match has the same format. The first team to win three matches, called rubbers in Davis Cup tennis, is the winner.

  • Friday - Two singles matches
  • Saturday - One doubles match
  • Sunday - Two singles matches