BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Monday February 28 2005 13:05 GMT

The major tournaments

The Arthur Ashe stadium in New York, America

The professional tennis season comprises of hundreds of tournaments around the world.

The four biggest are called the "Grand Slams" and these are:

  • Australian Open (January)
  • French Open (May/June)
  • Wimbledon (June/July)
  • US Open (Sept)

Winning all four of these is called "doing a Grand Slam". The last person to do this was Rod Laver in 1969.