BBC Home
Explore the BBC


UK Parliament

Last Updated: Thursday December 13 2001 15:46 GMT

What is Parliament?

Palace Of Westminster

It's where politicians meet to decide laws and make decisions for the United Kingdom.

For example, how money is spent on schools, hospitals and the police.

The three parts of Parliament:

1 The House of Commons

2 The House of Lords

3 The Monarchy

The Houses are in the Palace of Westminster in London. There are more than 1,000 rooms and more than two miles of corridors!