BBC Home
Explore the BBC


Scottish Parliament

Last Updated: Friday May 06 2011 11:24 GMT

What is the Scottish Parliament?

Ballot box on a Scottish Saltire flag

The Scottish Parliament was created in 1999 to give more power to people in Scotland.

There are 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament (known as MSPs for short).

It's part of a process called devolution, which means people in different parts of the UK can make decisions about certain things for their own areas, rather than having decisions made by politicians in London.