A vegetarian is someone who doesn't eat meat, poultry, game or fish.
They also avoid the by-products of slaughter such as:
- gelatine - found in some sweets, biscuits and ice creams
animal rennet - found in some cheese
Most vegetarians eat dairy products and eggs.
The Vegetarian Society says that some 4 million people in Britain are vegetarian.