Not in Cabinet Norman Fowler, Transport Minister John Biffen, Chief Secretary to the Treasury David Howell, Energy Secretary Norman St John Stevas, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Humphrey Atkins, Northern Ireland Secretary George Younger, Scottish Secretary Michael Heseltine, Environment Secretary Nicholas Edwards, Welsh Secretary Patrick Jenkin, Social Services Secretary John Nott, Trade Secretary Mark Carlisle, Education Secretary Angus Maude, Paymaster General Sir John Hunt, Secretary to the Cabinet Sir Ian Gilmour, Lord Privy Seal Lord Soames, Lord President of the Council Sir Keith Joseph, Industry Secretary Lord Carrington, Foreign Secretary and Overseas Development William Whitelaw, Home Secretary Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister Lord Hailsham, Lord Chancellor Sir Geoffrey Howe, Chancellor of the Exchequer Francis Pym, Defence Minister James Prior, Employment Secretary Peter Walker, Agriculture Minister

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News

It is 25 years since Margaret Thatcher became prime minister. Click on an individual in the image or use the drop-down menu below to find out more about the members of her first cabinet, and what has happened to them since.

Geoffrey Howe

Geoffrey Howe served as chancellor in Mrs Thatcher's first Cabinet, becoming foreign secretary in 1983 before being demoted in 1989 to leader of the Commons.

He became increasingly estranged from the prime minister because of his more enthusiastic approach towards Europe.

Labour's Denis Healey once said debating with him was like being savaged by a dead sheep. But Howe proved to be a lethal enemy within his own party, sparking the train of events that saw Thatcher forced to quit in 1990. As Lord Howe, he remains an active pro-Euro campaigner.

Sir Geoffrey Howe, Chancellor of the Exchequer


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific