Not in Cabinet Norman Fowler, Transport Minister John Biffen, Chief Secretary to the Treasury David Howell, Energy Secretary Norman St John Stevas, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Humphrey Atkins, Northern Ireland Secretary George Younger, Scottish Secretary Michael Heseltine, Environment Secretary Nicholas Edwards, Welsh Secretary Patrick Jenkin, Social Services Secretary John Nott, Trade Secretary Mark Carlisle, Education Secretary Angus Maude, Paymaster General Sir John Hunt, Secretary to the Cabinet Sir Ian Gilmour, Lord Privy Seal Lord Soames, Lord President of the Council Sir Keith Joseph, Industry Secretary Lord Carrington, Foreign Secretary and Overseas Development William Whitelaw, Home Secretary Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister Lord Hailsham, Lord Chancellor Sir Geoffrey Howe, Chancellor of the Exchequer Francis Pym, Defence Minister James Prior, Employment Secretary Peter Walker, Agriculture Minister

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News

It is 25 years since Margaret Thatcher became prime minister. Click on an individual in the image or use the drop-down menu below to find out more about the members of her first cabinet, and what has happened to them since.

Michael Heseltine

One of the party's most charismatic figures, Michael Heseltine was once seen as a natural heir to the Tory crown. But he lost out to John Major after precipitating Mrs Thatcher's downfall.

He entered parliament in 1966 and began climbing the ladder under Ted Heath. In 1986 he resigned from the Cabinet in a row over the Westland helicopter company.

He stepped down as an MP in 2001 having served as deputy prime minister under Mr Major and is now Lord Heseltine.

Michael Heseltine, Environment Secretary


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific