Full coverage

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News

Click the links below to find out the major developments in DNA
1859 1869 1903 1928 1944 1950 1952
1865 1879 1911 1929 1948 1951 1953
Francis Crick and James Watson, having seen Rosalind Franklin's data, deduce the famous double helical structure of DNA. They and Franklin's colleague Maurice Wilkins receive the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1962, Franklin having died of cancer several years earlier.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific