Electorate President Cabinet Parliament Supreme Leader Armed Forces Head of Judiciary Expediency Council Guardian Council Assembly of Experts

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Iran: Who holds the power?
Click on the chart below to unravel Iran's complex political system

Members of the cabinet, or Council of Ministers, are chosen by the president. They must be approved by parliament, which in 2005 rejected four of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad's initial nominees for his hardline cabinet. Parliament can also impeach ministers.

The Supreme Leader is closely involved in defence, security and foreign policy, so his office also holds influence in decision-making. Reformist ministers under former President Khatami were heavily monitored by conservatives. The cabinet is chaired by the president or first vice-president, who is responsible for cabinet affairs.

Mr Ahmadinejad's cabinet contains only two clerics and no women. Mohammad Rahmati, minister of roads and transport, is the only minister remaining from Mr Khatami's cabinet.

President Ahmadinejad's cabinet pictured with the Supreme Leader
President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad's cabinet contains only two clerics


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific