Tajikistan Turkmenistan kyrgyzstan Uzbekistan Kazakhstan

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
banner image: Guide to Central Asia

Clickable map showing Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan


Central Asia was incorporated into the Soviet Union in the 1920s and ruled by communists for nearly 70 years.

Since the five countries gained independence in 1991 they have all faced the challenge of building their own political structures.

Click on the links on the map on the left to read about each country's system.


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific