[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Full coverage
Click through this guide to find out more about the EU's institutions.

Introduction BACK  |  NEXT

European Commission  |  Council of Ministers  |  European Parliament  |  Court of Justice

Court of Auditors  |  European Central Bank  |  Agencies  |  How they work

Council of Ministers

The Council of Ministers is the EU institution which represents the EU member states. It is a many-headed creature and may bring together government ministers from each country, heads of government, ambassadors, or merely government officials.

A summit meeting of heads of government is known as a European Council, while a meeting of ambassadors (or permanent representatives as they are termed) goes under the name Coreper.

Many decisions are made by officials meeting in technical committees and are then merely rubber-stamped by ministers.

Unlike the Commission, the Council of Ministers is not a supranational body but an intergovernmental one.

It should not be confused with the European Council, which is the name given to the regular meetings - sometimes called summits - of the EU member states' heads of state or government.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

The Justus Libsius building, Brussels


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific