BBC Home > BBC News > Arts & Culture

Motion to chair 2010 Booker Prize

18 November 09 12:52 GMT

Sir Andrew Motion is to chair the judges for the prestigious Man Booker Prize for Fiction next year, it has been announced.

The former Poet Laureate said it was an "exciting challenge" with "a lot of difficult decisions" lying ahead.

"It's an honour to be asked to chair the Man Booker Prize. I greatly look forward to a year of reading voraciously," he said.

The longlist of 12 or 13 books will be announced in late July.

A shortlist of six will then be announced in early September before the winner is named at an awards ceremony in London on 12 October.

Hilary Mantel was named the winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize for her historical novel Wolf Hall.

Sir Andrew Motion was appointed Poet Laureate in 1999 before stepping down from the role in April 2009.

He is the professor of creative writing at Royal Holloway College, University of London and co-founder of the online Poetry Archive.

He was knighted for his services to literature last month.

Related BBC sites