BBC Home > BBC News > Entertainment

Evans in double radio awards win

12 May 09 00:51 GMT

BBC 2 Radio DJ Chris Evans picked up two prizes at the Sony Radio Academy Awards on Monday night.

Evans was given both the Music Radio Personality of the Year Award and the Entertainment Award by a panel of more than 100 industry professionals.

Radio 1's Chris Moyles lost his Breakfast Show Award to 5 Live.

Electric Radio Brixton: Daily Show - based at London's Brixton prison - won the Listener Participation prize and the Community Award for A Sound Fix.

The station, set up in 2007 by the Prison Radio Association charity, broadcasts around the clock with inmates among the producers, interviewers and DJs.

'Totally, utterly, thrilled'

For the Music Radio Personality of the Year prize, Evans, who also hosted the ceremony, beat Lauren Laverne, Scott Mills and Zane Lowe.

As Sharlene Spiteri, from the pop group Texas, presented the Entertainment Award to Evans, she said: "I met this guy in 1989 and I have known him many years. He has never waned in his love for broadcasting."

Vanessa Feltz was named the Speech Radio Personality of the Year, beating Nicky Campbell on BBC Radio 5 Live and Talksport's Ian Wright, among others.

As she accepted her award Feltz said: "I'm absolutely, totally, utterly, thrilled... radio is such a laugh, isn't it?"

For the first time, BBC Radio 3 was named the UK Station of the Year, winning over BBC Radio 1 and Classic FM.

Related BBC sites