Page last updated at 07:16 GMT, Monday, 18 May 2009 08:16 UK

BBC Wales' 11 Bafta Cymru winners

Russell T Davies
Russell T Davies is credited with reviving popular sc-fi series Dr Who

BBC Wales has won 11 Bafta Cymru awards, with four going to Doctor Who, including best screenwriter for Russell T Davies, who revived the show.

But the biggest winner on the night was the film Martha, Jac a Sianco, made for S4C, whose six awards contributed to the channel's total of 16.

Actress Ruth Jones, who co-wrote and starred in the hit BBC comedy Gavin and Stacey, also won an award.

She collected the Siân Phillips Award at the Wales Millennium Centre.

BBC Wales' haul of trophies was given to five different departments in the corporation.

As well as Doctor Who, BBC Wales' Amazon programme, made by Indus, picked up two awards, one for best documentary and the best director for Rob Sullivan.

Llinos Wynne took the best factual award for her portrait of Josie Russell in One Life: Josie's Journey, while a music documentary about Quincy Jones took the best music programme award.

Dan Snow was named best presenter for his documentary about the emperor Hadrian and the best interactive category was won by the BBC Wales team behind the Merlin website.

Dewi Llwyd's look at the American elections, America '08 Dewi Llwyd ar Daith was named the best news and current affairs programme.

Geraint Lewis, Sharon Morgan and Ifan Huw Dafydd
Sharon Morgan (centre) and Ifan Huw Dafydd (right) won best actress and actor for their performances

BBC Wales' head of programmes Clare Hudson said: "These awards are a fantastic recognition of the hard work, dedication and sheer creative brilliance of our BBC Wales programme teams.

"We are really proud of all the winners, and of those who were nominated."

The Bafta Cymru Special Award honoured actress Margaret John.

While the Gwyn Alf Williams Award for a programme or series of programmes which contributed the most to the understanding and appreciation of the history of Wales went to S4C's Lleisiau'r Rhyfel Mawr.

Sharon Morgan and Ifan Huw Dafydd picked up the best actress and best actor awards for their performances in the film Martha, Jac a Sianco, an adaptation of Caryl Lewis's award-winning novel.

S4C's director of commissioning, Rhian Gibson, said: "This landmark film reflects S4C's fiction strategy of providing authors and directors with a platform with which to challenge audiences with innovative and original content.

"One-off productions such as these sit alongside long-running drama series which also reflect the lives of people in Wales, and we're delighted that so many of those drama productions have done well this year.

"S4C is also pleased with the range of other awards won across a range of genres. This is a major achievement, reflecting the creative talents and technical skills of our partners in the independent production sector, BBC Cymru and ITV Cymru Wales."

Print Sponsor

Doctor dominates Bafta Cymru list
16 Apr 09 |  Wales
Wales-made TV series wins Bafta
27 Apr 09 |  Wales

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific