Page last updated at 20:11 GMT, Sunday, 27 April 2008 21:11 UK

Doctor Who's Bafta Cymru triumph


Clockwise top left, Joanna Page and Ruth Jones from Gavin and Stacey, Doctor Who writer and producer Russell T Davies and actor Ioan Gruffudd

Doctor Who emerged the major single winner at the 17th Bafta Cymru awards for the third year running.

The revived sci-fi drama starring David Tennant picked up six awards, including best drama series and best screenwriter, from eight nominations.

Its BBC Wales stablemate, the sci-fi thriller Torchwood, emerged with one accolade, for best costume.

Blue Peter presenter Gethin Jones was host of the ceremony at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay.

BBC Wales' Coal House, produced by Indus Films, which transported three Welsh families back to taste life in the mining valleys of south Wales in 1927, won the Gwyn Alf Williams Award for contributing the most to the understanding and appreciation of the history of Wales.

Doctor Who's triumphs include those for best drama series, which went to Phil Collinson, and best drama director, to James Strong.

The Doctor Who spin-off Torchwood won the award for best costume, which went to Ray Holman.

Karen Voisey of BBC Wales' Week In Week Out won best current affairs programme for an investigation into transplant tourism.

Kylie Minogue and David Tennant in Doctor Who
The Doctor Who Christmas special was a winner

Documentary series Tribe won in two categories, and Coast was best factual programme. Fellow BBC Wales production Young Dracula was best children's programme.

S4C's Welsh language productions won 11 awards, including best youth programme for the children's soap opera Rownd a Rownd.

Two prizes also went to programmes produced by BBC Wales for S4C.

Grav - Ray O'r Mynydd, a programme celebrating the life of the late rugby legend and broadcaster Ray Gravell who died last October, won best documentary, while best live coverage went to Angladd Ray Gravell (Ray Gravell's Funeral).

Best actress went to Anne-Marie Duff for ITV's The History of Mr Polly, who beat off competition from Eve Myles (Torchwood) and Rebecca Harries (Belonging).

Rhodri Evan was best actor for his role in the S4C drama Cowbois ac Injans.

This year's Sian Phillips Award went to Hollywood star Ioan Gruffudd while veteran actor Glyn Houston won the Bafta Special Award.

BBC Wales controller Menna Richards said: "Congratulations to all our winners. It's wonderful to see the talent, creativity and hard work of so many people being recognized in this way.

"BBC Wales is very proud that so many of its in-house and independent productions have won awards this year.

"Their commitment shown in producing such first-class output is much appreciated by our audiences."

Torchwood scores record audience
23 Oct 06 |  Entertainment
Doctor Who is Bafta award winner
08 May 06 |  Entertainment
Race film joy for debut director
13 Feb 05 |  South East Wales

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific