BBC News
Launch consoleBBC News in video and audio
Last Updated: Sunday, 20 January 2008, 09:29 GMT
New university granted for city
Graduation (generic)
Its new name makes it the UK's youngest university
Swansea has become a two-university city after its Institute of Higher Education won the right to call itself one.

Inspectors have given permission for the institute to be renamed Swansea Metropolitan University.

It follows two years of inspections by the Privy Council into the standards it offered students.

Swansea joins Manchester, London and Leeds in having a metropolitan university.

The university's principal, Professor David Warner, described the renaming as an "exciting development".

"We are delighted to announce that our application has been successful and Swansea now has two universities," he said.

"The title of Swansea Metropolitan University has been approved.

"The new university title will be celebrated at a number of formal events later this year," he added.

The new classification has also made it the UK's newest university.

Swansea Metropolitan University inherits a 150 year long history of teaching. The school of art opened on the site in 1853 and teacher education was first offered in 1872.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific