[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Saturday, 22 April 2006, 19:27 GMT 20:27 UK
Doctor leads Bafta Cymru winners
Billie Piper and Christopher Eccleston in the first series of the revived Doctor Who
Doctor Who came back for its first series in 16 years
Doctor Who has won five awards at the Bafta Cymru awards in Cardiff.

The hit TV series, made by BBC Wales, was shortlisted in 14 separate categories in the TV and film awards.

It won the prizes for best drama series and best drama director, as well as awards for costume, make-up and photography direction.

Producer Steve Robinson competed against himself with three nominations for best documentary - including Iolo Williams Flying with Kites, which won.

Doctor Who's lead writer and executive producer Russell T Davies also won the Siān Phillips award for his outstanding contribution to network television.

Christopher Eccleston, who starred in the first Doctor Who series to be produced for 16 years, and co-star Billie Piper were nominated in the best actor and actress categories.

The series - now into its second run with the new Doctor David Tennant - has also been nominated as best drama in the Bafta awards, which will be held on 7 May in London.

Bruce Parry, presenter of Tribe
Bruce Parry won best presenter award for Tribe

"We are thrilled that the spectacular contribution made by Russell T Davies to television over the past few years has won him such a very special award," said BBC Wales head of English programmes Clare Hudson.

As well as Doctor Who, Davies' writing credits include Casanova and Queer As Folk.

The BBC documentary series Tribe - which saw explorer Bruce Parry experience life with six remote tribes - won three awards, including best presenter for Parry and best director.

The BBC also picked up the best screenwriter and design awards for the one-off drama Dad, starring Richard Briers and Kevin Whately.

Altogether BBC Wales won 18 awards, while Welsh language channel S4C won 13 awards.

Other winners included the late night chat show Jonathan, hosted by former rugby legend Jonathan Davies, an Avanti/BBC production for S4C, in the best light entertainment category.

Bilingual music film Y Lleill - The Others won the award for best film.

Doctor Who attracts eight million
16 Apr 06 |  Entertainment
Bafta TV Awards 2006: The shortlist
27 Mar 06 |  Entertainment
Doctor Who takes three TV awards
25 Oct 05 |  Entertainment
Doctor Who writer's power success
18 Jul 05 |  South West Wales


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific