Page last updated at 13:18 GMT, Friday, 9 May 2008 14:18 UK

Sixteen post offices to shut down

Close up of a post box
The first closures are scheduled to take place in July

Post offices on the Western Isles, Shetland and Orkney will be closed following public consultation.

Sixteen branches will shut with the first closures scheduled to take place in July, Post Office Limited said.

They are Gress, Grimshader, Knock, Leurbost, Borve, Breasclete, Shader, Sidinish, South Dell and Tigharry on the Western Isles.

Burray, Harray, Rendall and Swannay on Orkney, and Camb and Levenwick on Shetland, will also close.

The future of Western Isles branches at Bragar, Skigersta and Northton are now being reviewed.

Western Isles SNP MP Angus MacNeil said he was disappointed at the closure of 10 isles branches and hoped the three under review would remain open.

Scottish Lib Dem Orkney and Shetland MP Alistair Carmichael accused the Post Office of neglecting residents.

Worry over post office cuts plan
04 Mar 08 |  Highlands and Islands
Campaigns to save post branches
18 Jan 08 |  Highlands and Islands
Support for post office campaign
16 Jan 08 |  Highlands and Islands

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific