Page last updated at 00:09 GMT, Friday, 27 November 2009

Consultation ends on new St Ninian's catchment area

Pupil and teacher (generic)
The catchment area proposals have caused controversy

A consultation on controversial plans to redraw the catchment area for one of Scotland's most successful schools ends on Friday.

East Renfrewshire Council proposes to limit "priority right of access" to St Ninian's High School, Giffnock, to three local primary schools.

Pupils in the current catchment, who live in Glasgow, would lose priority but have placing requests considered.

If approved, the new arrangements would come into place in August 2010.

St Ninian's catchment area covers three East Renfrewshire primary schools - Our Lady of the Missions, St Cadoc's and St Joseph's - and two primary schools from Glasgow - St Angela's and pupils from the former St Louise's who now attend St Vincent's.

East Renfrewshire Council said it wanted to revise the catchment area to St Ninian's as "we simply cannot accommodate everyone who wants a place, so we have to find a way forward".

Its proposal to remove priority status from the Glasgow schools has angered some parents and caused friction with the neighbouring authority.

Print Sponsor

Spat over top school's catchment
11 Mar 08 |  Glasgow, Lanarkshire and West
Schools demand proof of residence
07 Jan 08 |  Glasgow, Lanarkshire and West
Inspectors give school top marks
20 Mar 07 |  Glasgow, Lanarkshire and West

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific