Page last updated at 15:16 GMT, Monday, 28 April 2008 16:16 UK

Devolution body members announced

Jim Wallace presser
Former deputy first minister Jim Wallace is on the commission

The make-up of the commission which is looking into the future of devolution in Scotland has been announced.

Former Deputy First Jim Wallace and ex-Lord Advocate Lord Boyd will both sit on the body.

The 15-member commission, chaired by Sir Kenneth Calman, is meeting for the first time at Holyrood as it sets about reviewing the process of devolution.

The commission has the support of Labour, the Tories and the Liberal Democrats.

The SNP Government is not taking part in the process.

It is holding its own ''national conversation'' as part of its white paper on independence in Scotland

'Range of talent'

Sir Kenneth's commission will not explore independence as a future option.

Other members of the commission include former Tory Scottish Office minister James Douglas Hamilton, Labour peer Lord Elder, Iain McMillan of CBI Scotland and Mona Siddiqui, professor of Islamic studies at Glasgow University.

Sir Kenneth said: "I am delighted we have secured the commitment of such a range of experience and talent and I have no doubt it will be applied practically and thoroughly throughout the commission's future proceedings.

"I also hope the wide spectrum of those involved sends a clear public signal that this is an inclusive and independent commission which is serious in both its intention and its application."

Membership of the commission:

  • Sir Kenneth Calman, Chancellor of the University of Glasgow (Chair)
  • Colin Boyd, former Lord Advocate, member of the House of Lords (Labour)
  • Rani Dhir, Director Drumchapel Housing Co-operative
  • James Douglas-Hamilton, former Scottish Office Minister, member of the House of Lords (Conservative)
  • Professor Sir David Edward, retired judge of the European Court
  • Lord Elder, member of the House of Lords (Labour)
  • Audrey Findlay, former Leader of Aberdeenshire Council, now convener of the Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Jamie Lindsay, former Scottish Office Minister, member of the House of Lords (Conservative) , Chairman SAC (Scottish Agricultural College)
  • John Loughton, President of the Scottish Youth Parliament (serving in a personal capacity)
  • Murdoch MacLennan, chief executive, Telegraph Media Group
  • Shonaig Macpherson, chair of the National Trust for Scotland and of the SCDI (Scottish Council Development and Industry)
  • Iain McMillan, director, CBI Scotland
  • Mona Siddiqui, Professor of Islamic Studies, University of Glasgow
  • Matt Smith, Scottish Secretary, Unison
  • Jim Wallace, former deputy first minister and former leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats

Row as McLeish backs SNP debate
24 Mar 08 |  Scotland
Scottish powers to be given boost
02 Mar 08 |  Scotland
Holyrood 'won't give back powers'
29 Feb 08 |  Scotland
MSPs back devolution review body
06 Dec 07 |  Scotland
Row over spending review figures
09 Oct 07 |  Scotland
SNP outlines independence plans
14 Aug 07 |  Scotland


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific