[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 16 May 2007, 16:57 GMT 17:57 UK
Salmond announces his new cabinet
Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon
First Minister Alex Salmond with health secretary Nicola Sturgeon
Scotland's new first minister Alex Salmond announced his cabinet, just hours after being voted in by MSPs.

The new set-up features five "cabinet secretaries", a term not previously used in devolved Scottish government.

Among them was SNP deputy leader Nicola Sturgeon, who will be deputy first minister and health secretary.

A further 10 junior ministers were also announced, and these were agreed in a vote by MSPs during a meeting of the Scottish Parliament.

Former SNP leader John Swinney was named cabinet secretary for finance, while Fiona Hyslop was handed the education and lifelong learning brief.

Kenny MacAskill, SNP justice spokesman in the last parliament, took the cabinet secretary post for that area of responsibility, while Richard Lochhead will handle rural affairs and the environment.

Here is the list of junior ministers who were also named

  • Bruce Crawford - parliamentary business
  • Linda Fabiani - Europe, external affairs and culture
  • Jim Mather - enterprise, energy and tourism
  • Stewart Stevenson - transport, infrastructure and climate change
  • Maureen Watt - schools and skills
  • Adam Ingram - children and early years
  • Shona Robison - public health
  • Stewart Maxwell - communities and sport
  • Fergus Ewing - community safety
  • Mike Russell - environment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific