[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 27 January 2006, 09:57 GMT
By-election candidates announced
Ballot box
Nine candidates will stand in the seat
Nine candidates are to contest the Dunfermline and West Fife by-election, it has been confirmed.

The contest has arisen following the death of Labour MP Rachel Squire, who died on 6 January.

Labour is defending an 11,500 majority in the seat and will contest it with the SNP, Scottish Tories, Liberal Democrats, and Scottish Socialists.

UKIP Scotland, The Common Good, Scottish Christian Party and Abolish Forth Bridge Tolls Party also stand.

Catherine Stihler will represent the Scottish Labour Party, Carrie Helen Ruxton is the Scottish Tories' candidate and John McAllion will contest the seat for the Scottish Socialists.

Willie Rennie will stand for the Liberal Democrats, while Douglas Chapman will represent the SNP.

Labour majority

Thomas Minogue is standing for the Abolish Forth Bridge Tolls Party as part of the National Alliance Against tolls (Scotland).

Ian Borland has been nominated for UKIP Scotland, James George Hargreaves for the Scottish Christian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship" and Dick Rodgers for The Common Good Party.

Ms Squire, who was elected in 1992, passed away peacefully in hospital at the age of 51 after a long battle against cancer.

She held the seat at the 2005 general election, gaining 20,111 votes (47.4)%, with a 27.3% majority.

Liberal Democrat candidate David Herbert was in second place with 8,549 votes, Douglas Chapman, of the SNP came third with 8,026 votes.

Conservative candidate Roger Smillie polled 4,376 votes, Susan Archibald, of the Scottish Socialist Party, gained 689 and Ian Borland, of UKIP in Scotland received 643 votes.

Turnout was 42,394 or 59.9% of the electorate - a 2.3% increase on the previous election.

Labour MP dies after long illness
06 Jan 06 |  Scotland

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific