Skip to main content
Where I Live
A-Z Index

BBC News

BBC Election 2005

Watch the BBC Election News
  • Election news alerts
  • Email services
  • Mobiles/PDAs
  • News for your site
Last Updated: Wednesday, 6 April, 2005, 07:55 GMT 08:55 UK
Familiar faces prepare to bow out
The MPs have held their seats for a combined total of 34 years

After months of speculation, the date of the general election has been announced and all the political parties will begin in earnest to woo voters.

The Liberal Democrats are the dominant party in Devon and Cornwall, holding eight of the 16 seats. Labour and Conservative both have four MPs.

When the results are known, whether the political landscape remains the same, there will be at least three new faces.

Three MPs - David Jamieson, Paul Tyler and John Burnett - are standing down.

Natural end

David Jamieson is the Labour MP for Plymouth Devonport and is the government's Transport Minister.

He announced in February that he would not be seeking re-election for the seat he has held for the past 13 years.

Mr Jamieson believes he has achieved all he set out to and likens it to a chapter coming to a natural end.

In Cornwall, Lib Dem MP Paul Tyler announced two years ago that he would not contest his seat in the next general election.


Mr Tyler, who is 63, has represented his North Cornwall constituency since 1992 and is the party's Shadow Leader of the House.

His profile was raised as the Lib Dem's rural affairs spokesman during the BSE crisis and the foot-and-mouth disaster.

Lib Dem MP John Burnett, who represents the constituents of Torridge and West Devon, will also be standing down.

Mr Burnett became the MP in 1997 after Conservative MP Emma Nicholson defected to the Liberal Democrats, but decided not to stand again.

Having previously served as an officer in the Royal Marines, Mr Burnett has championed the armed forces and spoken out against defence cuts.