Page last updated at 14:11 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 15:11 UK

Tories take six North Yorkshire seats in election

William Hague
William Hague retained his seat in Richmond

The Conservatives have secured six of North Yorkshire's eight constituencies in the 2010 general election.

The party took the Harrogate and Knaresborough, Richmond, Scarborough and Whitby, Selby and Ainsty, Skipton and Ripon and York Outer seats.

The York Central seat was retained by Labour's Hugh Bayley.

Voters in the remaining Thirsk and Malton constituency will not go to the polls until 27 May because of the death of a candidate.

In Harrogate and Knaresborough there was a 9.1% swing towards the Tories with Andrew Jones taking 24,305 votes.

Julian Sturdy polled the highest number of votes in the York Outer seat with 22,912.

This was 3,688 votes more than the Lib Dems' Madeleine Kirk.

Shadow Foreign Secretary William Hague retained Richmond with a majority of 23,336, up 5% on his 2005 result.

Mr Hague received 33,541 votes, while Lib Dem Lawrence Meredith won 10,205 and Labour's Eileen Driver won 8,150.

Increased majority

In Harrogate and Knaresborough, the Lib Dems' Claire Kelley won 23,266 votes while Labour's Kevin McNerney took 3,413.

The Conservatives also held on to their seat in Scarborough and Whitby with an increased majority.

Robert Goodwill received 21,108 votes - 8,130 more than Labour's Annajoy David. In 2005 Mr Goodwill beat Labour with a majority of 1,245.

Lib Dem Tania Exley-Moore came third with 11,093 votes, while UK Independence Party candidate Michael James came fourth.

Labour's Hugh Bayley has held on to his York Central seat, which he first won in 1992.

Mr Bayley took 18,573 votes, while the Conservatives' Susan Wade Weeks received 12,122 and the Lib Dems polled third place.

The Conservatives retained the Skipton and Ripon constituency, where Julian Smith received 27,685 votes with a reduced majority of 5.3%.

Helen Flynn of the Liberal Democrats was second with 17,735 votes and Labour's Claire Hazelgrove third, with 5,498 votes.

Meanwhile, the Tories have won the new Selby and Ainsty constituency, which was a target Labour seat.

Nigel Adams, polled first place with 25,562 votes, Labour came second with 13,297 and the Lib Dems came third with 9,180 votes.

Voter turnout in this new constituency was 71.1%.

Print Sponsor

But now comes the difficult part - making it work
Why has Eton College produced 18 British PMs?
Frantic talks on who will form the next government


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific