BBC News: Election 2010 BBC News

Page last updated at 12:51 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 13:51 UK

Tory wins former health minister's Warwickshire seat

Former Labour Health Minister Mike O' Brien
Mr O'Brien polled 54 fewer votes than the Tory candidate

Former Labour health minister Mike O'Brien has lost Warwickshire North to the Conservatives by 54 votes.

Tory candidate Dan Byles polled 18,993 votes compared to Mr O'Brien's 18,939 votes. The pair were so closely matched that a recount was ordered.

Elsewhere the Conservatives' Marcus Jones won Nuneaton from Labour.

The Tories also gained Warwick and Leamington, and Jeremy Wright won the new constituency of Kenilworth and Southam, a notional Conservative hold.

There was a turnout of 81% in Kenilworth and Southam.

Large majority

Labour's Bill Olner had defended Nuneaton since entering Parliament in 1992 but decided not to stand in 2010. Marcus Jones beat Labour's Jayne Innes by 2,069 votes.

In Warwick and Leamington, Conservative Chris White defeated Labour's James Plaskitt who had held the seat since 1997.

In Coventry North East, Labour Defence Secretary Bob Ainsworth held his seat with a large majority, despite losing 7.6% of his vote from the last general election.

Labour's Jim Cunningham held on to his Coventry South seat, as did Geoffrey Robinson in Coventry North West.

Conservative Mark Pawsey won in Rugby, a new seat, a notional gain from Labour.

The Conservatives held on to their seat in Stratford-upon-Avon. Nadhim Zahawi is the new MP after John Maples stood down.

Print Sponsor

But now comes the difficult part - making it work
Why has Eton College produced 18 British PMs?
Frantic talks on who will form the next government


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific