BBC News: Election 2010 BBC News

Page last updated at 12:03 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 13:03 UK

Conservatives gain four seats in Hampshire stronghold

Caroline Nokes with her supporters after winning Romsey and Southampton North
The Lib Dems lost Romsey and Southampton North to the Tories

The Conservatives have increased their stronghold in Hampshire, winning four new seats.

They took Romsey and Southampton North, Portsmouth North, Winchester, the new Meon Valley constituency, and held another 10 seats and the Isle of Wight.

Meanwhile Lib Dem home affairs spokesman Chris Huhne retained his seat in Eastleigh, increasing his majority.

Labour's John Denham and Alan Whitehead held their Southampton seats following a recount.

Duck island

The Tories ended 13 years of Liberal Democrat rule in Winchester with Steve Brine winning the seat with a 3,048 majority over the Liberal Democrats' Martin Tod.

The seat had been the Lib Dems' since 1997 when Mark Oaten famously took it with just two votes from the Tories.

However, the former party home affairs spokesman decided not to stand this time after a gay sex scandal was revealed in 2006.

In Gosport, Caroline Dinenage won for the Conservatives after the previous Tory MP Sir Peter Viggers stepped down following the expenses scandal.

Liberal Democrat Chris Huhne
Liberal Democrat Chris Huhne held on to his seat in Eastleigh

Sir Peter, 71, was forced to resign by Tory leader David Cameron after his expenses claims were published by the Daily Telegraph and found to include £1,645 for a duck island.

Tory James Arbuthnot increased his majority in North East Hampshire by more than 6,000 despite being another MP caught up in the expenses scandal.

According to the Daily Telegraph's investigation he claimed £108,062 in total on his second home in five years, the most available under the MPs' allowances system.

He did not appeal against the decision for him to repay £13,470.33, costs which included cleaning his swimming pool.

At the time Mr Arbuthnot said claiming for the pool cleaning had been "wrong and unacceptable" and he apologised for what he called an error of judgement.

Liberal Democrat Sandra Gidley lost Romsey and Southampton North to the Tories' Caroline Nokes following boundary changes.

Labour's Sara McCarthy-Fry lost her Portsmouth North seat to the Conservatives' Penny Mordaunt.

Mr Denham narrowly won in Southampton Itchen with 192 votes over the Conservatives, while Mr Whitehead won with a 2,413 majority.

Isle of Wight

Meon Valley, created after boundary changes, was won by Conservative George Hollingbery, who beat the Liberal Democrat Liz Leffman into second place.

Elsewhere in the county, the Conservatives held on to their seats in Aldershot, New Forest West, New Forest East, Fareham, Basingstoke, Hampshire North West, Hampshire East and Havant.

However the Lib Dems' Mike Hancock retained Portsmouth South with a majority of 5,200 over the Conservatives.

In Eastleigh, Mr Huhne polled a 3,864 majority over Conservative Maria Hutchings.

Sara McCarthy-Fry (l) and the Conservatives' Penny Mordaunt
Sara McCarthy-Fry lost her Portsmouth North seat to Penny Mordaunt

Conservative Andrew Turner won a 10,527 majority on the Isle of Wight, the largest constituency in the country with an electorate of nearly 110,000 people, despite losing 2.3% of the share.

Lib Dem Jill Wareham came second.

In other election results in the 18 Hampshire constituencies, David Willetts has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Havant, with a majority of 12,160.

Tory Damian Hinds won the Hampshire East seat after its Conservative MP since 1974, Michael Mates, stood down.

He polled 29,137, a 13,497 majority.

Julian Lewis has held the New Forest East seat for the Conservatives with a majority of 11,307.

Conservative Desmond Swayne has held on to New Forest West with a 16,896 majority.

Maria Miller held on to her Conservative seat in Basingstoke, polling a 13,176 majority.

In Aldershot, Gerald Howarth won with a 5,586 majority, while in Fareham, Mark Hoban won with a 17,092 majority.

Sir George Young held on to his Hampshire North West seat with a 18,583 majority and a 7.8% increase in the share.

Print Sponsor

But now comes the difficult part - making it work
Why has Eton College produced 18 British PMs?
Frantic talks on who will form the next government


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific