Page last updated at 10:30 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 11:30 UK

Labour and Conservatives retain Shropshire seats

Ballot box
Votes are being counted across Shropshire

Labour held on to Telford in the first general election result announced for Shropshire, but its majority has been cut by more than 4,000.

David Wright, the area's MP since 2001, polled 15,977 votes, a majority of 981 over the Conservatives' Tom Biggins.

Mark Pritchard has taken The Wrekin in a notional Tory hold in the second result in Shropshire.

He received 21,922 votes, compared with 12,472 for Paul Kalinauckas from Labour.

The former shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Owen Paterson, has successfully defended his seat in Shropshire North polling 26,692 votes and securing a majority of 15,828 votes.

The Conservatives' Philip Dunne held on to his seat in Ludlow and the Conservative candidate Daniel Kawczynski successfully defended his seat in Shrewsbury and Atcham with 23,313 votes, gaining a majority of 7,944.

Print Sponsor

But now comes the difficult part - making it work
Why has Eton College produced 18 British PMs?
Frantic talks on who will form the next government


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific