Page last updated at 15:03 GMT, Wednesday, 1 October 2008 16:03 UK

Lords Spiritual

The Lords Spiritual form one part of the membership of the House of Lords - the Lords Temporal form the other.

The Lords Spiritual are the archbishops and bishops of the Church of England who sit in Parliament as representatives of the established Church of England.

There are 26 bishops and archbishops in the Lords.

The Archbishops of Canterbury and York and the Bishops of Durham, London and Winchester have an automatic right to sit in the House of Lords.

The 21 other bishops have seats according to their seniority.

Print Sponsor

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific