Page last updated at 20:09 GMT, Monday, 22 June 2009 21:09 UK

Tory MP Bercow is elected Speaker


Tory backbencher John Bercow has been elected to become the next Commons Speaker.

The Buckingham MP received 322 votes to his rival and fellow Conservative MP Sir George Young's 271.

Mr Bercow was "dragged" to the chair, a tradition for the new Speaker.

In a short acceptance speech he said he would be "completely impartial" as Speaker of the House.


Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific