Page last updated at 20:36 GMT, Wednesday, 28 January 2009

In full: Heathrow rebel MPs

The government has won a vote on its plans to build a third runway at Heathrow airport but saw its majority cut to 19.

A total of 28 Labour MPs rebelled to vote for a Conservative/Lib Dem motion urging the government to "rethink" its plans. They were:

  • Diane Abbott (Hackney North & Stoke Newington)
  • Harry Cohen (Leyton & Wanstead)
  • Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North)
  • Jim Cousins (Newcastle upon Tyne Central)
  • Frank Dobson (Holborn & St Pancras)
  • David Drew (Stroud)
  • Frank Field (Birkenhead)
  • Paul Flynn (Newport West)
  • Ian Gibson (Norwich North)
  • John Grogan (Selby)
  • Kate Hoey (Vauxhall)
  • Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North)
  • Lynne Jones (Birmingham Selly Oak)
  • Peter Kilfoyle (Liverpool Walton)
  • John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington)
  • Andrew Mackinlay (Thurrock)
  • Bob Marshall-Andrews (Medway)
  • Michael Meacher (Oldham West & Royton)
  • George Mudie (Leeds East)
  • Chris Mullin (Sunderland South)
  • Gordon Prentice (Pendle)
  • Nick Raynsford (Greenwich & Woolwich)
  • Martin Salter (Reading West)
  • Virendra Sharma (Ealing Southall)
  • Alan Simpson (Nottingham South)
  • Andrew Slaughter (Ealing Acton & Shepherd's Bush)
  • Andrew Smith (Oxford East)
  • David Taylor (Leicestershire North West)

Print Sponsor

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific