Page last updated at 17:15 GMT, Friday, 28 March 2008

Ten candidates for London mayor

City Hall
The mayoral and assembly elections will be held on 1 May

Ten candidates will take part in the London mayoral election on 1 May, it has been announced.

At the close of nominations they had secured the 330 backers necessary to run for the job which has been held by Ken Livingstone since 2000.

Mr Livingstone will run for Labour, Boris Johnson for the Conservatives and Brian Paddick for the Lib Dems.

The Greens, UKIP, the BNP, Christian Choice, Left List, English Democrats and one independent also got through.

Candidates had to pay a 10,000 deposit and secure 330 backers - 10 from each London borough and the City.

Alan Craig Christian Choice
Boris Johnson
Brian Paddick
Liberal Democrats
Gerard Batten UKIP
Ken Livingstone Labour
Lindsey German
Left List party
Matt O'Connor
English Democrats
Richard Barnbrook BNP
Sian Berry Greens
Winston McKenzie Independent

Several other small parties said they would stand a candidate but did not make it to the final list - including the Senior Citizens' Party, Stop the Congestion Charge party and New Britain.

On Thursday London Assembly member Damian Hockney withdrew from the mayoral race, blaming a lack of media coverage for smaller parties.

He said it was "nothing to do with" a fear of losing his 10,000 deposit and complained that smaller groups were "effectively barred" from certain types of campaigning.

If none of the mayoral candidates gets more than 50% of votes at the first count, all but the top two candidates are knocked out and their second preference votes shared out.

Their deposits are refunded if they get 5% of first-choice votes.

Several candidates are also standing for a seat on the London Assembly, made up of 14 constituency members and 11 on the London-wide "top up" list - elected by proportional representation.

Boris Johnson The Boris Story
A look at the colourful life and times of London's new mayor, Boris Johnson.
Gordon Brown Brown's fightback
The PM admits mistakes but says Labour can recover

  Councillors Councils
Party +/- Total +/- Total
CON 257 3155 12 65
LAB -334 2365 -9 18
LD 33 1804 1 12
PC 31 205 -1 0
OTH 10 898 0 0
NOC - - -3 64
159 of 159 councils declared.

Find your results

Results in more detail

London Mayoral results
Overall results
Name Party Votes
Johnson CON 1,168,738
Livingstone LAB 1,028,966
Paddick LD 878,097
Berry GRN 409,101

Find your results

Results in more detail

London Assembly Results
Overall results
Party Constit' Top-up Total seats
CON 8 3 11
LAB 6 2 8
LD 0 3 3
GRN 0 2 2
BNP 0 1 1

Find your results

Results in more detail


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific