[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 25 July 2007, 14:38 GMT 15:38 UK
Nine new councils to be created
The system of councils in England is to be reformed, with the creation of nine new unitary authorities.

The plans will mean replacing two-tier county and city, borough or district authorities with a single body.

Local Government Minister John Healey said the changes were about "empowering citizens and communities".

The unitary authorities will be created in 2009 in Bedford, Chester, Cornwall, Co Durham, Exeter, Ipswich, Wiltshire, Northumberland and Shropshire.

'Opinion divided'

Mr Healey said the government had "rigorously assessed bids".

Councils had "to prove their proposals can improve services for local people and bring potential savings for council tax payers", he told MPs.

Local Government Association chairman Sir Simon Milton said: "Opinion has undoubtedly been sharply divided on the merits of creating unitary authorities.

"There are many examples of where separate district and county councils have worked well and others of where unitary councils have also done so.

"There is no one right way to structure local government.

"The government has now made its decisions. Where unitary status has been granted, it is time to focus on the successful creation of new authorities."

Unitary authority plan rejected
25 Jul 07 |  Somerset
County council set to be scrapped
25 Jul 07 |  Beds/Bucks/Herts

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific