[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 3 April 2007, 17:05 GMT 18:05 UK
Guide: England's local elections
What is happening in England?

On 3 May there will be about 10,500 council seats contested across 312 local authorities. Half of those seats are in just three regions - eastern, southern and the south-western.

Who is being elected?

Across all 36 Metropolitan boroughs, one-third of council seats will be contested. In 25 unitary authorities the whole council will go to the polls, while in another 20 only a third of seats are up for election. Of district councils, 153 will elect the entire council, another 78 will elect a third.

Metropolitan boroughs going to the polls

Barnsley, Birmingham, Bolton, Bradford, Bury, Calderdale, Coventry, Doncaster, Dudley, Gateshead, Kirklees, Knowsley, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, Oldham, Rochdale, Rotherham, Salford, Sandwell, Sefton, Sheffield, Solihull, South Tyneside, St Helens, Stockport, Sunderland, Tameside, Trafford, Wakefield, Walsall, Wigan, Wirral and Wolverhampton.

Unitary authorities electing all council seats

Bath & N.E. Somerset, Blackpool, Bournemouth, Bracknell Forest, Brighton & Hove, Darlington, East Riding of Yorkshire, Herefordshire, Leicester, Luton, Medway, Middlesbrough, North Lincolnshire, North Somerset, Nottingham, Poole, Redcar & Cleveland, Rutland, South Gloucestershire, Stockton-on-Tees, Telford & Wrekin, Torbay, West Berkshire, Windsor & Maidenhead and York.

Unitary authorities electing a third of seats

Blackburn with Darwen, Bristol, Derby, Halton, Hartlepool, Kingston-upon-Hull, Milton Keynes, North East Lincolnshire, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, Southend-on-Sea, Stoke-on-Trent, Swindon, Thurrock, Warrington and Wokingham.

District councils electing all seats

Allerdale, Alnwick, Arun, Ashfield, Ashford, Aylesbury Vale, Babergh, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Blaby, Blyth Valley, Bolsover, Boston, Braintree, Breckland, Bridgnorth, Broadland, Bromsgrove, Broxtowe, Canterbury, Caradon, Carrick, Castle Morpeth, Charnwood, Chelmsford, Chesterfield, Chester-le-Street, Chichester, Chiltern, Christchurch, Copeland, Corby, Cotswold, Dacorum, Dartford, Derbyshire Dales, Derwentside, Dover, Durham, Easington, Eastbourne, East Cambridgeshire, East Devon, East Dorset, East Hampshire, East Hertfordshire, East Lindsey, East Northamptonshire, East Staffordshire, Eden, Epsom & Ewell, Erewash, Fenland, Forest Heath, Forest of Dean, Fylde, Gedling, Gravesham, Guildford, Hambleton, Harborough, High Peak, Hinckley & Bosworth, Horsham, Kennet, Kerrier, Kettering, King's Lynn & West Norfolk, Lancaster, Lewes, Lichfield, Lincoln, Maldon, Malvern Hills, Mansfield, Melton, Mendip, Mid Bedfordshire, Mid Devon, Mid Suffolk, Mid Sussex, New Forest, Newark & Sherwood, North Cornwall, North Devon, North Dorset, North East Derbyshire, North Hertforshire, North Kesteven, North Norfolk, North Shropshire, North Warwickshire, North West Leicestershire, North Wiltshire, Northampton, Oadby & Wigston, Oswestry, Restormel, Ribble Valley, Richmondshire, Rother, Rushcliffe, Ryedale, Salisbury, Scarborough, Sedgefield, Sedgemoor, Selby, Sevenoaks, Shepway, South Bucks, South Derbyshire, South Hams, South Holland, South Kesteven, South Norfolk, South Northamptonshire, South Oxfordshire, South Ribble, South Shropshire, South Somerset, South Staffordshire, Spelthorne, St Edmundsbury, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, Suffolk Coastal, Surrey Heath, Taunton Deane, Teesdale, Teignbridge, Tendring, Test Valley, Tewkesbury, Thanet, Tonbridge & Malling, Torridge, Tynedale, Uttlesford, Vale of White Horse, Vale Royal, Wansbeck, Warwick, Waverley, Wealden, Wear Valley, Wellingborough, West Devon, West Dorset, West Somerset, West Wiltshire, Wychavon, Wycombe and Wyre.

District councils electing a third of seats

Amber Valley, Barrow-in-Furness, Basildon, Basingstoke & Deane, Bassetlaw, Bedford, Brentwood, Broxbourne, Burnley, Cambridge, Cannock Chase, Carlisle, Castle Point, Cherwell, Chester, Chorley, Colchester, Congleton, Craven, Crawley, Crewe & Nantwich, Daventry, Eastleigh, Ellesmere Port & Neston, Elmbridge, Epping Forest, Exeter, Gloucester, Great Yarmouth, Harlow, Harrogate, Hart, Havant, Hertsmere, Huntingdonshire, Hyndburn, Ipswich, Macclesfield, Maidstone, Mole Valley, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Norwich, Pendle, Penwith, Preston, Purbeck, Redditch, Reigate & Banstead, Rochford, Rossendale, Rugby, Runnymede, Rushmoor, Shrewsbury & Atcham, South Bedfordshire, South Cambs, South Lakeland, St Albans, Stevenage, Stratford-on-Avon, Stroud, Swale, Tamworth, Tandridge, Three Rivers, Tunbridge Wells, Watford, Waveney, Welwyn Hatfield, West Lancashire, West Lindsey, West Oxfordshire, Weymouth & Portland, Winchester, Woking, Worcester, Worthing and Wyre Forest.


David Cameron Winners and losers
With the results in, Nick Assinder assesses the election winners and losers







The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific