Page last updated at 21:13 GMT, Monday, 13 February 2006

In full: Labour rebel MPs

Here is the full list of the 20 Labour MPs who rebelled against the government in the first Commons vote linking ID cards to passports.

The government, with a majority of 31, pushed through plans to put people applying for passports from 2008 on the ID cards register.

Diane Abbott (Hackney North & Stoke Newington),

Katy Clark (Ayrshire North and Arran)

Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North)

Gwyneth Dunwoody (Crewe & Nantwich)

Mark Fisher (Stoke-on-Trent Central)

Paul Flynn (Newport West)

Ian Gibson (Norwich North)

Kate Hoey (Vauxhall)

Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North)

Glenda Jackson (Hampstead & Highgate)

Lynne Jones (Birmingham Selly Oak)

John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington)

Bob Marshall-Andrews (Medway)

Linda Riordan (Halifax)

Clare Short (Birmingham Ladywood)

Alan Simpson (Nottingham South)

John Smith (Vale of Glamorgan)

David Taylor (Leicestershire North West)

Bob Wareing (Liverpool West Derby)

Mike Wood (Batley & Spen).

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific