[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Saturday, 1 May, 2004, 13:53 GMT 14:53 UK
Labour dominates new peers list
Sir Iain Vallance
Former BT chairman Iain Vallance is among new Lib Dem peers
Labour names dominate the 46 new working peers being appointed to the House of Lords on Saturday.

Tony Blair's pollster Philip Gould and controversial Labour donor Paul Drayson feature in the 23 new Labour peers.

There are also five new Conservative peers, eight for the Liberal Democrats, and one for the Ulster Unionists.

Government officials say the appointments are a step towards making the party split in the House of Lords more even.

Independent peers have also chosen an extra seven people to join the cross benches and Tony Blair has personally nominated former Bank of England governor Sir Edward George and ex-head of the diplomatic service Sir John Kerr.

High profile names on the lists include former Labour general secretary Margaret McDonagh, Tory Sir Stanley Kalms, president of the Dixons chain of stores, and for the Lib Dems former BT chairman Sir Iain Vallance.

Mr Drayson, founder of Powderject, faced controversy when his company was awarded a government contract to supply smallpox vaccine.

Sir Edward George, former Bank of England governor
Sir Edward George was Tony Blair's personal choice

The decision followed his 100,000 donation to Labour in 2001 but both the National Audit Office and the Commons public accounts committee said there was nothing improper in the award of the contract.

Mr Drayson, who has now sold Powerject, said the donation had nothing to do with his peerage.

"I'm really looking forward to this," he said. "From my point of view I have spent 20 years working in business as a science entrepreneur and I have a real interest in innovation and the commercialisation of science.

"I hope to be able to use this opportunity to promote the cause of innovation in science."

Conservative: 212
Labour: 205
Lib Dem: 72
Independents: 189
A Labour spokesman said the party's new peers had experience in a wide range of fields.

They would help ensure "Labour's agenda is delivered, despite the best efforts of the Tories, who even after this list remain the largest party in the House of Lords as they have been for the last 100 years and more".

After the new appointments there will be 212 Conservative peers; 205 for Labour, 72 Liberal Democrats and 189 crossbenchers.

BT chairman

A government spokesman said the new balance went towards ensuring that no party dominated the Lords.

Conservative Central Office would not comment on the move.

The appointments are the first batch of new working peers since 2001.

Liberal Democrat leader Charles Kennedy said his new peers, who include broadcaster Julia Neuberger, would add to the party's record in "swaying the way the House of Lords votes on key issues".

In March the government abandoned plans to get rid of the remaining 92 hereditary peers and set up a supreme court after it became clear the Lords reform bill would not succeed through both houses.

Government critics said the final shape of the Lords should be decided before the last hereditaries are removed.

The new peers:

Prime minister's appointments

  • Sir Edward George, former Governor of the Bank of England

  • Sir John Kerr - former Permanent Under Secretary at the Foreign Office and Head of the Diplomatic Service


  • Professor Sir Kumar Bhattacharyya - professor of manufacturing at the University of Warwick

  • Patrick Carter, chairman, Sport England

  • Paul Drayson, co-founder, PowderJect Pharmaceuticals plc

  • Professor Anthony Giddens - former director, London School of Economics, credited with establishing the Third Way philosophy

  • Philip Gould, pollster and chairman, Philip Gould Associates

  • The Rev Leslie Griffiths - superintendent minister, Wesley's Chapel, London

  • Garry Hart, special adviser to the Lord Chancellor, Lord Falconer

  • Alan Haworth, secretary to the Parliamentary Labour Party

  • Ruth Henig, former senior lecturer, Lancaster University

  • Alexander Leitch, chairman, National Employment Panel

  • Margaret McDonagh, former general secretary, the Labour Party

  • William McKenzie, former partner, Pricewaterhouse accountants

  • John Maxton, former Labour MP, Glasgow Cathcart

  • Delyth Morgan, chief executive, Breakthrough Breast Cancer

  • Margaret Prosser, chair, Women's National Commission and former deputy general secretary of the Transport and General Workers' Union

  • Richard Rosser, former general secretary, Transport Salaried Staffs' Association

  • Ted Rowlands, former Labour MP, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

  • Janet Royall, head of the European Commission Office in Wales

  • Peter Snape, former Labour MP, West Bromwich East

  • Peter Truscott. former Labour MEP, Hertfordshire

  • Denis Tunnicliffe, chairman, UK Atomic Energy Authority and of the Rail Safety Standards Board

  • Margaret Wall. former national secretary and head of policy for Amicus

  • Sir Anthony Young, former senior deputy general secretary of the Communication Workers' Union.


  • Greville Howard, chairman of Wicksteed Leisure Ltd

  • Sir Stanley Kalms, president of Dixons Group plc and former Conservative Party treasurer

  • Irvine Laidlaw, chairman of the Institute for International Research

  • Patricia Morris, vice chairman of the Conservative Party

  • Leonard Steinberg - founder of Stanley Leisure plc and former deputy treasurer of the Conservative Party

Liberal Democrat

  • Sir David Alliance, chairman, N Brown Group

  • Jane Bonham Carter, television documentary maker and former Liberal Democrat director of communications

  • Hugh Dykes, former Conservative MP for Harrow East

  • Kishwer Falkner - chief executive, Students Partnership Worldwide

  • Air Marshal Sir Timothy Garden - former Assistant Chief of Defence Staff

  • Rabbi Dame Julia Neuberger, writer and broadcaster

  • The Reverend John Roberts, former Methodist Minister for Wales

  • Sir Iain Vallance, vice-chairman of the Royal Bank of Scotland and former chairman of BT.
Ulster Unionist

  • Edward Haughey - chairman of Norbrook Laboratories Ltd

  • Professor Sir Alec Broers - president of the Royal Academy of Engineering

  • Sir Ewen Cameron, former chairman of the Countryside Agency

  • Nicola Chapman, chair of Leeds United Disability Organisation

  • Frances D'Souza, former executive director of the International Centre Against Censorship

  • Professor Elaine Murphy, chairman of the North East London Strategic Authority

  • Diljit Rana, founder Andras House Ltd and first Honorary Indian Consul in Northern Ireland

  • Professor Lola Young, former head of culture for the Greater London Authority.

Blair puts Lords reform on hold
19 Mar 04  |  Politics
Ministers press new Lords reform
09 Feb 04  |  Politics
Lords reform plans are defeated
03 Dec 03  |  Politics
Blair's legal reforms under fire
14 Jun 03  |  Politics
Row erupts over Blair reshuffle
13 Jun 03  |  Politics
Q&A: Legal reforms
14 Jul 03  |  Politics
Supreme court row 'deal' reached
18 Mar 04  |  Politics

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific