[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 2 May, 2003, 13:53 GMT 14:53 UK
Vote 2003 at-a-glance

The main points of the 2003 elections for the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly and English local authorities are as follows:


  • The Tories gain 565 council seats and win control of a substantial number of councils.

  • Tory MP Crispin Blunt grabs headlines by quitting his party's frontbench and calling for leadership challenge against Iain Duncan Smith

  • Labour loses 839 seats and loses control of Birmingham for the first time in 20 years plus a raft of other councils

  • The Lib Dems get an estimated 30% share of the vote in England - their best to date

  • In Wales Labour wins half the 60 seats to get a working majority - but is likely to miss out on an overall majority in the assembly.

  • Labour wins 30 seats, Plaid Cymru 12, Conservatives 11, Liberal Democrats six, and one independent

  • Labour is the biggest party in the Scottish Parliament but without gaining a majority

  • The winners in Scotland are the Greens with six gains and the Scottish Socialists with four

  • Labour have 50 seats, the SNP 24, the Liberal Democrats 16, the Tories 16, the Greens seven, five seats were held by the Scottish Socialists and four by independents.

  • Scottish National Party expected to lose eight seats as its share of the vote falls.

  • Retired GP Jean Turner, campaigning on a platform of saving Stobhill hospital, wins Strathkelvin and Bearsden from Labour

  • In England, the BNP wins seven seats to become second largest in Burnley but party leader Nick Griffin fails to win a seat in Oldham

  • Wards with all-postal ballots see a significantly higher turnout

    Other highlights from Scotland

  • Turnout was 49%
  • Labour sees off a SNP challenge in Glasgow Govan

  • Tory leader David McLetchie topples former Enterprise Minister Iain Gray in Edinburgh pentlands

  • The Conservatives increased their number of first-past-the post seats from one to three.

  • Tory Alex Fergusson defeats sitting Scottish National Party MSP Alasdair Morgan with a majority of 99

  • There were mixed results for the SNP, which failed to take key seats in Dundee West and Glasgow Govan but they captured Ochil, Dundee East and Aberdeen North.

  • In Edinburgh South Liberal Democrat Mike Pringle secured a majority of 158 over Labour former finance minister Angus Mackay

    In Falkirk West, former Labour politician turned independent Dennis Canavan held onto the seat with a majority of 10,000 over the Scottish National Party.

    Other highlights from Wales

  • Turnout is just 38%

  • Labour won four seats from Plaid Cymru including Rhondda, in South Wales.

  • Labour wins one of those seats, Islwyn Llanelli, with a majority of just 21.

  • Labour's Denise Idris-Jones won the crucial north Wales seat of Conwy with a majority of 72 after three recounts.

  • Plaid won 12 seats - down five on the last assembly

  • The Tories won 11 seats

  • The Liberal Democrats took six seats, the same as last time round

  • Former Labour assembly member John Marek was returned as an independent for Wrexham

    Other highlights from England

  • Labour loses Birmingham for the first time since 1983. It goes to no overall control

  • Labour loses Coventry for the first time in 25 years

  • Good news on an otherwise disappointing night when they regained power in Sheffield

  • Conservatives lose to no overall control: Carlisle, Horsham, Malvern Hills, Gedling, and North Somerset

  • Labour lose to no overall control: Allerdale, Ashfield, Birmingham, Bolton, Redcar and Cleveland, Brighton & Hove, Bristol, Broxtowe, Cannock Chase, Coventry, Dartford, Derby, Dudley, Exeter, Forest of Dean, High Peak, Luton, North East Lincolnshire, North Warwickshire, Northampton, Rochdale, Rossendale, Trafford, Vale Royal

  • Liberal Democrat lose to no overall control: Berwick-upon-Tweed, Brentwood, East Cambridgeshire, South Gloucestershire, West Wiltshire, Worthing, West Berkshire

  • Independents lose to no overall control: Bridgnorth, East Lindsey and North Shropshire

  • Tory gains from no overall control: Ashford, Aylesbury Vale, Basildon, Chelmsford, Tynedale, Congleton, Cotswold, Dacorum, Fylde, Guildford, Hinckley & Bosworth, King's Lynn & West Norfolk, Medway, Melton, Mendip, Mid Suffolk, Poole, Ribble Valley, Salisbury, Scarborough, Selby, South Holland, South Kesteven, South Oxfordshire, St Edmundsbury, Stafford, Stratford-on-Avon, Taunton Deane, Tonbridge & Malling, West Dorset and Worcester

  • Tory gains from Labour: Castle Point, East Staffordshire, Erewash, Hyndburn, Kettering, Thanet and Wellingborough

  • Tory gain from an Independent: Rutland

  • Labour gains from no overall control: Barrow-in-Furness, Oldham and Sheffield

  • Labour gain from Conservative: Plymouth

  • Lib Dem gain from no overall control: Bournemouth, North Norfolk, Watford, Windsor & Maidenhead, Royal York, Uttlesford

  • Lib Dem gain from Conservative: Shepway, Torbay and Waverley

  • Lib Dem gain from Labour: Chesterfield and Durham City

  • Independents gain Torridge from no overall control

  • Independents gain Mansfield from Labour

    All eyes on 'mid-term' report
    01 May 03  |  Politics


    News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
    UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
    Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific