Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education



Front Page

World

UK

UK Politics

Business

Sci/Tech

Health

Education

Sport

Entertainment

Talking Point
On Air
Feedback
Low Graphics
Help

Thursday, July 16, 1998 Published at 12:12 GMT 13:12 UK


UK Politics: Diary

21 July



COMMONS

Questions

Secretary of State for Scotland.

Parliamentary Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department.

Ten Minute Rule Bill

Remission of Third World Debt (Jubilee 2000) - William Cash, Con, Stone. Remission of debt owed by the poorest developing countries by the year 2000.

Business

Opposition Day (18th allotted day). Debate on the Relationship of the government to parliament - to 19:00 BST (18:00 GMT) - followed by a debate on motions put forward by the Liberal Democrats.

Evening Adjournment

To be announced.


LORDS

Starred Questions

Does the government see any early prospect of being able to have the security gates at the entrance to Downing Street removed? Lord Morris of Manchester.

Why does the leaflet 'Don't leave your pension to chance' issued by the Department of Social Security in June, not refer to the arrangements to make proof against inflation, the pension received under SERPS, occupational pension schemes and personal pensions respectively? Baroness Castle of Blackburn.

What action is the government taking, in conjunction with its European Union Partners, to prevent the collapse of the Japanese currency and economy? Lord Newby.

In the light of recent developments in Nigeria, will the government encourage European Union and Commonwealth countries to lift visa restrictions on government personnel from Nigeria, with immediate effect, with a view to facilitating dialogue with the new administration? Viscount Waverley.

Business

Legislation - Northern Ireland (Sentences) Bill (third reading).

Scotland Bill (committee stage - 4th day).

Unstarred Question

Does the government have an overall integrated arts strategy for the UK and, if so, what is it? Earl of Clancarty.


SELECT COMMITTEES

Defence: Strategic Defence Review 10:30 BST (9:30 GMT).

Witness: Chief of General Staff General Sir Roger Wheeler.

Trade and Industry: Trade with Central Europe 10:30 BST (9:30 GMT).

Witness, Minister for Trade Lord Clinton-Davis.

Environmental Audit: Trees 10:30 BST (9:30 GMT). Witnesses: Rep of the World Wildlife Fund and the Forestry Industry Council of Great Britain (the tree growers' association).

Social Security: Child Benefit Fraud 14:00 BST (13:00 GMT). Witnesses: Minister of State for Social Security and Welfare Reform, Frank Field.

Scottish Grand: Child Care Strategy in Scotland 10:30 BST (9:30 GMT).

Defence: Strategic Defence Review 16:30 BST (15:30 GMT).

Witness: Rep of the Territorial Auxiliary and Voluntary Reserves Associations (Tavras).


LORDS COMMITTEES

Lords Science and Technology Select: Cannabis 10:45 BST (9:45 GMT).

Witnesses: George Howarth, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Home Office, the Head of 'Action Against Drugs' Unit and Alan MacFarlane of the Criminal Policy Directorate.

Lords European Communities Select: European Council 16:15 BST (15:15 GMT).

Witnesses: Doug Henderson, Minister of State at the FCO.


NON-PARLIAMENTARY

Home Office expected to give details of its spending plans following the Comprehensive Spending Review.

Howard League conference on the treatment of teenage girls in the criminal justice system.

Lambeth Conference Anglican bishops conference continues in Canterbury, Kent.

Legal Criminal Cases Review Commission publishes its first annual report.



Advanced options | Search tips




Back to top | BBC News Home | BBC Homepage |


In this section

Long-term diary