Page last updated at 12:50 GMT, Thursday, 6 November 2008

Four police stations set to close


Four police stations in County Fermanagh are to be recommended for closure.

A public consultation was carried out on proposals to close stations in Kesh, Belleek, Belcoo, and Newtownbutler.

If the Policing Board approves the recommendations the county will have three police stations.

Chief Inspector Alywin Barton said reassuring the public would be a priority. "We need to comfort local people with visible policing," he said.

"Through our neighbourhood and community police schemes we hope officers will be able to stay out in the area."

If the police stations are closed, they will be replaced with a mobile station and a police office facility which is to be piloted in Belcoo.

Three years ago the county had 13 police stations.

If the plans go ahead the three remaining stations will be in Enniskillen, Lisnaskea and Irvinestown.

Print Sponsor

County police stations may be cut
10 Apr 08 |  Northern Ireland

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific