BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 11 December 2007, 06:58 GMT
Paisley battles Clooney for award
George Clooney (left) and Ian Paisley
George Clooney and Ian Paisley are nominated for the peace award
Ian Paisley and George Clooney are among the contenders up for an international peace accolade.

Other nominees for the Tipperary Peace Award include Cardinal Sean Brady, Nobel laureate Shirin Ibadi and Indian spiritual teacher Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

Clooney was nominated by the public for his campaigning work for Darfur.

An adjudication panel will choose the winner early next year. This year's prize was awarded to former Church of Ireland Primate Robin Eames.

The retired bishop joined a list of well-known recipients, including Bill Clinton and Nelson Mandela.

Other nominees for the 2008 award include Egypt's first lady Suzanne Mubarak, former taoiseach Dr Garret FitzGerald and Niall Mellon of the Niall Mellon Township Trust.

The Tipperary Peace Convention was founded in 1983 with the aim of promoting peace and rewarding people who make a noteworthy contribution to peace-related issues.

Neeson reveals Paisley influence
05 Dec 07 |  Northern Ireland
Peace award for ex-church leader
20 Apr 07 |  Northern Ireland

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific