[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Thursday, 18 May 2006, 06:55 GMT 07:55 UK
Electoral boundaries map redrawn
Houses of Parliament, Westminster
Northern Ireland currently has 18 seats at Westminster
Plans for a new parliamentary constituency called Antrim Coast and Glens have been dropped.

The Boundary Commission said there was no support for the idea.

This is the major change in revised recommendations which have been published following public inquiries in Belfast, Newcastle and Ballymena.

New boundaries are being proposed in 12 of Northern Ireland's 18 Westminster constituencies, but the changes are not as sweeping as earlier proposals.

Belfast's four constituencies are being extended outwards to incorporate Carryduff, Dundonald, Dunmurry, Lagmore and Glengormley

With the Antrim Coast and Glens plans dropped, East Antrim survives and is being given three wards from the massive North Antrim constituency.

Some changes will also be made to Strangford, South Down, Lagan Valley, Foyle and East Londonderry.

Despite earlier proposals to the contrary, the constituencies of Newry and Armagh and Upper Bann are both unchanged.

Constituency changes outlined
28 Apr 04 |  Northern Ireland
New boundaries for constituencies
21 Apr 04 |  Northern Ireland
Focus on boundary review
16 May 03 |  Northern Ireland
NI constituencies under review
16 May 03 |  Northern Ireland

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific