Page last updated at 18:18 GMT, Thursday, 7 May 2009 19:18 UK

Seven candidates for mayoral post

Mayor Martin Winter
Martin Winter was first elected as mayor in 2002 and re-elected in 2005

Seven candidates will take part in the Doncaster mayoral election on 4 June, it has been announced.

Sandra Holland will run for Labour, Jonathan Wood for the Conservatives and Dave Owen will run for the British National Party.

The English Democrats are fielding Peter Davies with Stuart Exelby running for the Community Group.

There are two independent candidates, Michael Felse and Michael Maye. Nominations closed at 1600 BST.

The current mayor, Martin Winter, said in March he would not seek re-election.

It followed a review into the town's childcare services which described them as "seriously weak".

Doncaster Council is one of 12 nationally to be run by an elected mayor. Mr Winter became the first elected mayor of the town in 2002.

Print Sponsor

Nominations open for next mayor
29 Apr 09 |  South Yorkshire
Childcare team 'seriously weak'
12 Mar 09 |  South Yorkshire
Action urged on child protection
12 Mar 09 |  England

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific