Page last updated at 17:02 GMT, Sunday, 1 November 2009

Olympic cyclists get city freedom

Jason Kenny (right) and Chris Hoy
The team picked up 34 medals at the Olympic and Paralympic Games

Great Britain's Olympic cycling team have received the freedom of the City of Manchester.

The 37-strong team were selected for the honour to mark their "outstanding performances" at the Beijing Olympics and Paralympics in 2008.

They were given the accolade at a ceremony at Manchester Town Hall.

The cyclists are based at the National Cycling Centre at Manchester Velodrome. The team picked up 14 Olympic and 20 Paralympic medals.

Sir Richard Leese, leader of Manchester City Council, said: "The Great Britain cycling team are fantastic ambassadors for the city and are the epitome of everything that makes Manchester great.

"The Freedom of Manchester is the highest honour that can be bestowed by the city to demonstrate how proud we are of the team and all their achievements."

Previous recipients of the honour include Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson, the crew of HMS Manchester and Sir Winston Churchill.

Print Sponsor

Olympic stars get freedom of city
03 Sep 08 |  Manchester
Civic reception for cyclist Kenny
30 Aug 08 |  Manchester

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific