[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Saturday, 16 June 2007, 02:37 GMT 03:37 UK
Giggs honoured in birthday list
Ryan Giggs
Giggs made his Old Trafford debut aged 17
Manchester United footballer Ryan Giggs is among those honoured in the Queen's Birthday Honours list.

The 33-year-old former Wales captain, who made his Old Trafford debut aged 17, has been appointed OBE for services to sport.

Kris Radlinski, formerly captain of Wigan Warriors, was made an MBE for his services to Rugby League.

Elaine Griffiths, project director for the restoration of Gorton Monastery, became an MBE for services to Heritage.

The Monastery of St Francis, also known as Manchester's Taj Mahal, is currently undergoing a multi-million pound restoration programme.

Others honoured in Greater Manchester are:


  • Ann Clynch, principal, Loreto Sixth Form College, Manchester, for services to further education.
  • Bernard Anthony Knight, formerly chief executive, Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council, for services to local government.
  • Alison Gail Odell, life vice-president, British Universities Sports Association, for services to sport.
  • Dr John Simon Patterson, executive director for Development, AstraZeneca, for services to the pharmaceutical industry.


  • Professor John McClure, formerly Chair, British Red Cross Society, for services to vulnerable people.
  • Judith O'Kane, headteacher, Melland High School, Manchester, for services to special needs education.
  • Geoffrey Arnold Shindler, president, Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners, for services to the administration of justice.
  • Michael Hugh Brankin, Band 2, Valuation Office Agency, HM Revenue and Customs.
  • Anne Jackson-Baker, formerly director, Royal College of Midwives UK Board for England, for services to midwifery and nursing.
  • John Anthony Edward Relf Richards, DL, for charitable services.
  • Mark Wilson, district manager, Cheshire and Warrington, Department for Work and Pensions.
  • Dr Robin Stuart Henshaw, JP. Executive director, Groundwork Oldham and Rochdale. For services to the environment.


  • Norman Armstrong-Kersh, for charitable services in Greater Manchester.
  • Priscilla Baynes. Creative director, Community Arts Northwest. For services to the arts.
  • Stuart Arrowsmith Needham. Chair, Guide Bridge Theatre, Audenshaw, Tameside, Lancashire. For services to drama.
  • Jean Ann Openshaw. Senior Audiologist, Salford Primary Care Trust. For services to healthcare.
  • Patricia Millicent Beech, Library and Information Services director, National Library for the Blind, for services to visually impaired people.
  • Alan Frank Bradbury, chief executive officer, Droylsden Youth Centre, Manchester, for services to young people.
  • Patricia Millicent Beech. Library and Information Services director, National Library for the Blind, for services to visually impaired people.
  • Kathleen Frances Cheetham, district auxilary nurse, Community Health, Alastair Ross Health Centre, Bolton, Greater Manchester, for services to healthcare.
  • Joseph Cohen, for services to the Maccabi Youth Sports Trust, Prestwich, Manchester.
  • Ray Collett, for services to the community in Bolton, Greater Manchester.
  • Katherine Edith Hardman, for services to school sport.
  • Jan Howell, for services to the Young Witness Service in Greater Manchester.
  • Janet Elizabeth Ogden, customer service officer, Manchester County Court, Her Majesty's Courts Service, Ministry of Justice.
  • The Reverend Leslie Mark Olsberg, for services to the community in Manchester.
  • Jean Ann Openshaw, senior audiologist, Salford Primary Care Trust, for services to Healthcare.
  • Lynn Anne Perry, for services to youth justice in the North West.
  • Elizabeth Iris Russell, for services to the community in Denton.
  • Elaine Rita Wright. Chair, Higher Openshaw Neighbourhood Association, for services to the community in East Manchester.
  • Terence John Wyke, senior lecturer in history, Manchester Metropolitan University, for services to higher education and to local history.
  • Leo Michael Donnelly, for services to the community in Macclesfield, Cheshire.
  • Stuart Arrowsmith Needham, chair, Guide Bridge Theatre, Audenshaw, Tameside, Lancashire, for services to drama.
  • Joan Slater, chairman, British Ice Teachers' Association, for services to ice skating.
  • Michael Wadsworth Thomson, for services to the Columbus Fellowship, Cheshire.
  • Audrey Walsh, JP, for services to the community in Stockport.
  • Peter William Wood, from Hyde, for services to the community in Glossop, Derbyshire.

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific