[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Saturday, 31 December 2005, 14:02 GMT
7 July workers honoured by Queen
Peter Clarke, head of Met Police Anti-Terrorist Branch
Peter Clarke was made an MBE for his anti-terrorist work
Workers who helped casualties in the 7 July bomb attacks on London have been recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours list.

Awards have gone to police, transport workers and emergency crews.

Those honoured include police chief Peter Clarke, NHS boss Julie Dent and police inspector Glen McMunn, who helped at the scene of a Tube blast.

Mr McMunn said: "I feel honoured and flabbergasted to receive it. I thought everyone did a fantastic job."

Mr McMunn, who has been made an MBE, helped to remove bodies after the Piccadilly line explosion at Russell Square.

The British Transport Police officer said: "7 July was an act of great evil. I've worked for 25 years in the police force and been to major train crashes but I've never seen carnage like that before."

Award 'for all'

Fifty two people died in the attacks on three Tube trains and a bus. There are 23 awards in all for those who took part in the rescue operation.

Metropolitan Police Deputy Assistant Commissioner Peter Clarke, who was made an MBE, said it was in honour of all the officers who worked tirelessly after the attacks.

He said: "It is a recognition of the dedication, professionalism and extreme hard work by many colleagues to meet the unprecedented challenges from international terrorism."

It was an awful day and the staff did a magnificent job
Tim O'Toole
London Underground

Mr Clarke, 50, a former commander of Scotland Yard's Royalty and Diplomatic Protection Group, became head of the Met's anti-terrorist branch in June 2002. He initiated counter-terrorism strategies now used by police forces across the country.

Julie Dent, chief executive of South West London Strategic Health Authority, was appointed CBE for leading the team that co-ordinated the health service's response.

London Underground managing director Tim O'Toole, 49, was made an honorary CBE for leading the Tube management's response to the attacks.

Crowd control

He co-ordinated the evacuation of thousands of Tube passengers and station staff to safety.

He later said: "In short, it was an awful day and the staff did a magnificent job."

Alan Dell, 45, was also made an MBE for his role in running the control room at London Buses.

He co-ordinated the effort to get people out of central London, dispatched staff to help with crowd control and advised people on how to get home safely.

Also appointed OBEs were Major Muriel McClenahan, of the Salvation Army, for co-ordinating support from faith and voluntary sectors, and Roy Bishop, Deputy Commissioner of London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority.

Mayor Ken Livingstone said the honours reflected "the work of transport and emergency service staff and the extraordinary courage and professionalism they showed on July 7".

Those honoured for their actions on 7 July included:

  • Peter Hendy, (CBE) Transport for London

  • Tim O'Toole (honorary CBE) London Underground

  • Julie Dent (CBE), South West London Strategic Health Authority

  • Roy Bishop (OBE), London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority

  • Martin Flaherty (OBE) London Ambulance Service

  • Major Muriel McClenahan, (OBE) of the Salvation Army

  • Dallas Ariotti (MBE), Guy's and St Thomas's hospitals

  • David Boyce (MBE), station supervisor Russell Square

  • John Boyle (MBE), Tube driver, London Underground

  • Alan Dell, (MBE) London Buses

  • Constable Deborah Russell-Fenwick (MBE), British Transport Police

  • William Kilminster, (MBE) paramedic London Ambulance Service

  • Peter Swan (MBE) paramedic London Ambulance Service

  • Jim Underdown (MBE) paramedic London Ambulance Service

  • Roy Web (MBE) London Ambulance Service

  • Alastair Wilson (OBE) Royal London Hospital

  • Julia Peterkin (MBE), Royal London Hospital

  • Angela Scarisbrick (MBE), Great Ormond Street Hospital

  • Peter Sanders (MBE), station manager at King's Cross Tube station

  • Insp Glen McMunn (MBE) British Transport Police

  • Insp Stephen Mingay (MBE) British Transport Police

  • Deputy Assistant Commissioner Peter Clarke (OBE) Metropolitan Police

  • Commander Chris Allison (MBE) Metropolitan Police

  • Det Supt John Prunty (Queen's Police Medal) Metropolitan Police

  • Det Supt Douglas McKenna (Queen's Police Medal) Metropolitan Police

Watch an interview with an honoured worker

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific